How To Delete All Your Accounts From The Internet

2 minutes read
(Last Updated On: December 15, 2016)

This might sound weird but there is a way of deleting almost all your online accounts from the Internet with just few clicks. Two Swedish computer programmers built a website that could erase your online existence with a click of a button.

How Does This Work?

If you ever feel like online life sucks, there may be a solution or if you want to delete some of your online accounts that you no longer use.

A Swedish website is offering anyone the chance to erase their online footprint with just few steps.

You simply have email address and password, and then they can remove any and all traces linked to that address.

The service, called Deseat.me, has been designed by Swedish programmers Wille Dahlbo and Linus Unnebäck.

By letting users sign in with Google, it seeks out all of the accounts a user has created online.

 

Using Google’s OAuth protocol to access users’ data, it then provides them with delete links for each of their accounts, enabling the user to wipe the slate clean.

Examples given on the website include Facebook, Evernote and Dribble, but would include everything from YouTube to LinkedIn.

The site claims: ‘We give you a list of all the accounts and services you have ever created an account for’. We match them with direct links to their delete page, and instructions on how to delete your account for good.’

The Swedish duo write: “Basically the only thing you’re telling us is what accounts you want to delete“.

‘That’s it, and since we use Google’s OAuth protocol we don’t have access to any of your login information.’

However, for users with a lot of accounts it could take quite a few clicks to wipe out their online presence.

Deseat.me are appears to be fairly limited at the moment. It requires users to have a Google email address that is used for all of their online accounts.

This means that old MySpace accounts, for instance, will be missed.

Is it Possible to Delete Your Online Existence?

Just because your accounts are gone, does not necessarily mean you will become a ghost online. In the case of social media, while your profile may be deleted, there could still be records of your likes, shares and re-posts in other people’s profiles.

Many services, including Google, provide a grace period, where users can change their mind and reactivate an account.

Likes:
Views:
1113
Article Categories:
Online Services

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *